Posted by: Jen | October 10, 2009

Less than 24 hours to go!

This morning I participated in the Dog Run Dog 5K race in Golden Gate Park. Though I have to say 5K is a misnomer because the course was shortened to 2.3 miles due to an inability to get a permit for the usual race location of Crissy Field. (Darn Fleet Week and their silliness.) The race was pretty fun, it was a nice cool morning and we walked on paths I’d never been on before.

And yes, I said walked. I was walking as part of Team GOsmart, which is sponsored by our friends at Active.com. I was selected to be one of 100 female ambassadors to train a team women to walk a 5K in 8 weeks’ time. My team consisted of high school friends, Navy friend, and co-worker. We had a good time and I think the ladies are motivated to do more races in the future – we’re already talking about a Turkey Trot.  Success!

Now it’s time to finish the last bit of packing, take the bike apart (it won’t fit in my car otherwise), and head to Sacramento. I’ll have my usual pre-race meal of a turkey club sandwich (I carbo-loaded last night) and hopefully get some sleep. I’ve been thinking about transitions a lot so hopefully this positive thinking will pay off. 🙂

Responses

  1. Athena,
    Best of luck tomorrow! I can’t wait to hear all about, tri girl. 🙂
    xoxo,
    Blu


Leave a Reply

Categories

