Posted by: Jen | October 14, 2009

The new training plan begins!

I have begun training for my next major event, the Naples Half Marathon in Naples, Florida, on January 17th. I am using the Runner’s World Smart Coach plan, which takes a previous race time (I am using my previous HM time of 2:13:27) and formulates a plan based on your estimated weekly mileage, amount of effort you want to put in, and race time to come up with your projected pace on race day. RW has projected my next half marathon at 2:09:26, which sounds good to me! It’s a 9:52/mile pace.

So yesterday I did my first easy run, and RW said I have do my easy runs at an 11:32 pace for now (it gradually increases every few weeks) – let me tell you, that was HARD. My easy run pace averages between 10-10:30, so I know how that “feels”! 11:30 feels weird right now. However, I did the best I could. The plan calls for three days of running – easy on Tues, tempo/speedwork on Thurs, and long run on Sun. The other days are set for rest or XT (I will continue swimming/cycling/strength classes).  I have to set up my Garmin to use the Virtual Partner so I can get alerts when I am way off pace.

The easy run was set for 2 miles. I was still a little sore in the knees from Sunday, so I was happy to take it slow. I just ran around my neighborhood because I wasn’t sure if the rain was going to start up again. It was nice and cool, a little windy but manageable. I’m happy to be training again – I’m the kind of person who needs to be training for something or I’m toast. 🙂

Responses

  1. I ended up throwing out the pace suggestions for the shorter runs and speedwork and just going my own pace, because they were so slow! I used my 1:02 10k from earlier this year, and it was suggesting I run my intervals at 10:30+ pace for the first few weeks (and then dropped down into the 9:50s)…weird! I haven’t tried the virtual partner setting (I have turned it on by accident mid-run though)…let me know what you think of it!


Leave a Reply

Categories

