Posted by: Jen | October 16, 2009

Thoughts on overtraining syndrome

I’ve done some reading on this phenomenon and I think I’m approaching it. I noticed after last night’s run that my resting heart rate was higher than normal; I’m usually hovering around 55-60 BPM, up to 66, and it was well over 80 last night, even several hours after my run. I meant to check my resting HR this morning after sleep but totally forgot.

I took today off to give myself a break. I don’t normally run at night, which didn’t help when I wanted to go to sleep, and today I have felt twitchy and jittery with a little pain in my left knee (note that my left knee hurts most of the time but this feeling is slightly different). I’ve been icing, too. I’m sure the twitchy feeling is more due to coffee overload than anything, but it’s better to be safe than sorry!

Responses

  1. take care of you. what hrm are you using?

  2. I have a Garmin Forerunner 305 but I lost the HR strap when I moved… so I don’t use one. I just took my pulse manually. I know what my average resting HR is so I based it on that. 🙂 I really should get a new strap but they are so expensive!


Leave a Reply

Categories

