Posted by: Jen | October 17, 2009

Ahhh, swimming… with music!

I finally broke down and made a purchase I’d been thinking about for a couple of months: the H2O Audio Interval Headphone System for the iPod Shuffle, 2nd generation. I found it at Best Buy for cheaper than sold on the H2O Audio website; bonus! I had to try it out. So after a quick stop to pick up a pair of training hand paddles (to improve my stroke), I was off to the gym.

I LOVE THESE HEADPHONES! I can’t believe how much better swimming felt when I had music. It felt effortless, and the time just flew by. Before I knew it, I had swum 15 laps… 20…. 30… 40… at 50, I figured it was time to get out. 50 laps = 2,500 yards, or 1.42 miles, which is farther than the swim at a half-Ironman distance triathlon (1.2 miles). This is a new distance record for me and I finished in 49:42 (average lap time 0:59:64). This gives me an idea of what kind of time goal I can set for my own “A” race next year, a half-Ironman tri (date/location TBD). Obviously I won’t be able to listen to music during the race, but the training will be a lot less boring and repetitive!

As seen, plus additional size earbuds to find the right fit and a carrying case!

As seen, plus additional size earbuds to find the right fit and a carrying case!

Responses

  1. Soo cool. I can not imagine what it must be like to swim with music


Leave a Reply

Categories

