Posted by: Jen | November 3, 2009

Eau de swim

I accomplished my workout goals today!

I was in bed by 9:30 last night (probably due to the time change) and got up a little after 6:15, had a quick bowl of Cinnamon Life with skim, and headed to the bus stop only to find out there wasn’t a bus coming for 24 minutes??? I quickly revised my plan; I dumped my gym bag inside the front door and took off for a quick 2-mile run in the neighborhood. No Garmin! Strangely freeing but I didn’t like it because I’m supposed to run at a set pace and I suspect I ran too fast. I got back to the house, drank a small glass of chocolate milk with 2 magnesium tablets, and got on the bus to the gym. I arrived a little before 7:30 and was in the water within a few minutes.

My swim was only 1,000 yards today – 20 laps – not because I was tired (well, I was kind of tired) but more because I got a late start and the guy sharing the lane with me decided to apply a metric butt-ton of cologne before stepping out. Srsly? People don’t go to the gym to meet you, dude! We’re not going to be impressed by your odiferous emanations. If anything, we’re going to walk the other way because if you can smell yourself (and I’m sure you can), it’s too strong. I wanted to gag. That plus my H2O Audio headphones not wanting to stay in my ears killed my swimming enthusiasm right quick, so I packed it in and went home.

I caught the bus with a minimal wait and got home with enough time to shower and eat a quick breakfast. I had my usual cup of coffee and an Oroweat Whole Grain & Flax English muffin with about 2 tsp of Jif creamy peanut butter. I love these English muffins. They are SO GOOD.

Now it’s just after 11 and my body is saying LUNCH, PLEASE! Silly time change. I had a bowl of Trader Joe’s Oatmeal Complete (good and good for you) and some peppermint tea. Hopefully that tides me over for a while until I can figure out what to have for lunch. đŸ™‚

Responses

  1. Sorry swimming was such a pain. Way to change things up on the fly, though.

  2. Great way to knock out a double workout!! I hate waiting for public transportation!


Leave a Reply

Categories

