Posted by: Jen | November 29, 2009

Running Wild For a Child and more foodieness

Today was the Run Wild For A Child 5K/10K, benefiting the SFFD Toy Drive. People dressed up as toys and participated in the race just like the rest of us. The winning costume was a couple dressed as Woody and Jessie from Toy Story 2; they were SO CUTE! My favorite was of course the Domo-kun costume. Anyone who knows me well knows I’m a bit of a Domo fanatic; I have two shirts, a hat, a wallet, and the 7-Eleven Slurpee cups and matching special straws.

This is Domo, in case you’re wondering what the heck I’m talking about:

He’s a Japanese TV star and becoming more and more popular in the U.S. I think he’s adorable. 🙂 So I didn’t race this morning, I ran at my assigned pace or close to it (11:25) and paced my friend Virginia, who is running the California International Marathon next weekend. (I will be there as a volunteer with my friend Nicole. We often volunteer at races together.)

After the race I ran an extra 1.8 miles to bring the total to 8 for the day and 15 for the week!

And on to the food!

Last night, the mister and I saw the movie Pirate Radio (quite funny, by the way, and a great soundtrack). After the movie, we had an early dinner at a Japanese restaurant not far from Union Square called Sushi Boat. It was SO GOOD. I’m pretty picky when it comes to Japanese food, and nothing beats my all-time favorite (Joss, which is located in Annapolis, MD) but this came pretty close. I decided to branch out and I ordered two totally different rolls – the Hot XoXo and the smoky pumpkin roll. Friends, let me tell you – that smoky pumpkin roll was out of this world! It was pumpkin cubes, avocado, and cucumber, and tempura crispy on top. DELICIOUS. The Hot XoXo was a smoked salmon salad with avocado, cucumber, and a spicy sauce. Also delicious. For dinner, I had the bento box – I’m a sucker for a good bento – with chicken teriyaki, gyoza, and tempura. Their veggie tempura was cooked to perfection and the gyoza came with a delicious dipping sauce with a little bit of a kick. The green tea ice cream – quite possibly the best I’ve had.

After dinner, we walked towards BART and passed a little cupcake place that just opened recently called Cako Bakery. They have the most beautiful cupcakes I’d ever seen. We went in for just one each and walked out with SIX flavors!

Here’s a picture:

Clockwise from top left: Andes chocolate mint, caramel, mocha, Nutella, red velvet, pumpkin cheesecake. The cupcakes on the left are mine; the other three are the mister’s. 🙂 We tried half of two flavors each last night. I had the mint and the pumpkin cheesecake. Both were delicious! I highly recommend this bakery if you’re ever in SF looking for a reasonably-priced sweet treat.

Responses

  1. Oh man those look good. I would have been all over the mint one. Mmmmm….

  2. haha domo is so cute! as are those cupcakes – yummy 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

