Posted by: Jen | December 14, 2009

Less than a month until triathlon training!!!

I start training for my first-ever Olympic-distance triathlon on January 12…. it’s time to start getting my pre-game on. As such, I got back into the pool after a several-week absence. It was a busy day at work and once again, our postman failed to pick up the mail for the second time. My boss and I had to load a huge mail hamper into her truck and drive it to the post office. I finally left work a little after 6:00 (I’m usually off at 5) and rode my bike to the gym. I didn’t have to wait long for a lane and swam 1,500 yards. It was slow going and my goggles fogged up like crazy but I got it done! I feel pretty good so I think I’ll stick to evening workouts for a while, except running, which I’ll still try to do in the morning.

I have a sprint-distance tri first, but it falls nicely into my training so I’m not training for it specifically. It’s the ICEBreaker Triathlon in Sacramento, the first of the season. It’s actually two weeks prior to the Oly, so it’ll be a nice warmup to get back in the swing of things. It features a .5 mile swim, 13-mile bike, and 4-mile run, all around Folsom Lake.

The “main event” of the spring is the Wildflower Triathlon Festival! It should be pretty cool, though I’m still trying to figure out the lodging situation. 🙂

Other races will fill out the rest of the time, but they are running-only. I’m looking at the Kaiser Permanente half marathon, the Oakland half marathon (inaugural race!) and the YMCA Chinese New Year 10K. So far I’m registered for the Naples (Florida) half marathon, of course, the one I’m training for right now! It’s January 17.

What races do you have planned in 2010?

Responses

  1. i only have boston set in stone. i’ve always wanted to do a tri but i despise the biking portion heh. maybe i should make that a goal for the new year? if i do i’m definitely going to be peppering you with questions ahah 🙂

  2. Right now I don’t have anything big planned, but there are a few local races I know I’ll want to do. Probably nothing longer than a 5 or 10k, but we’ll see.

  3. My big race in 2010 is the Greenland Trail 50k race in May. I am also hoping to do the Bolder Boulder virtual race again this year (running on your own time to avoid the crowds) and then a fall marathon!

  4. Just found your blog! I hope to find some inspiration in it and you. Good luck with the training, I look forward to reading about it. Check out my blog if you wish or have time with all that training ;)…love new readers (or add me to your roll)


Leave a Reply

Categories

