Posted by: Jen | January 2, 2010

New year, new attitude!

OK, it’s time for me to get back into a routine of blogging. Hello, faithful readers. 🙂 I hope 2009 was a good year for you; if not, I hope 2010 is a great year to make up for it!!! 2009 was a great year for me but I had had several bad years in a row so I was due for some positivity.

I started off the year right with an 8-mile run on Friday – I really fell off with training but I’m trying to redeem myself in the last two weeks before race day, which is kind of pointless since we all know that it’s the earlier miles that count. However, without further ado, here is the latest:

Naples Half Marathon Training (Jan. 17 is race day!!!)
Week 12 of 14

Assigned run: 8 miles, including 6 @ 9:59

Location: Sawyer Camp Trail

Garmin Connect: clicky! clicky! clicky!

After a late start and a hairy commute down the Peninsula due to a fire on BART and being re-routed downtown (going north to go south… uh, yeah), I met my dad and went to his house to get my car. An hour and a half after I intended to start, I was off and running. I did an 8-mile out-and-back on the historic Sawyer Camp Trail, which is a popular multi-use path for walkers, runners, and cyclists; even the occasional rollerblader can be seen. 🙂 The first mile was an easy warmup pace, and then I settled into my tempo pace. I had set the Garmin to a custom run so I couldn’t see my pace, but I had it set to be in a particular zone with 10:00/mi at the slow end, so if I dropped below that it would beep at me. It wasn’t perfect but it was an experiment that worked pretty well. I ended up averaging 9:55/mi for the 6 miles, so that’s not bad.

The only bad part was that I forgot my iPod headphones, so I had NO music! I’m OK with that on shorter distances, but I have to say that by mile 5 I was dying without music. You can only listen to so much nature and other people’s conversations before you want to tune out and finish the run. I also didn’t have enough fuel with me, so I started to get really hungry towards the end. I really need to buy some Gu when I go back to work on Monday. It’s right there in front of me every day, yet I always forget. Same with my new shoes; I need to rotate them in before race day. I already have nearly 150 miles on these shoes, and by 300 I’m feeling it in my knees.

So anyway, I finished the run and it was a relief to be done. Definitely not one of my “I love being a runner” days, but I felt accomplished. I stretched really well and had no residual soreness over the rest of the day, even at my friend’s birthday party that night where I danced like crazy. Whew! Even today they feel fine, so that’s good. I was worried about that.

Tomorrow is my long run – 10 miles – I’m still trying to think about where to go, as I’m sick of the same old places. I’m considering driving across the bay to an old favorite location and revisiting it, so we’ll see if I can get up early enough to make that happen as I have to be home, showered, and ready to go by noon – we’re off to the new house again today for more cleaning and other pre-moving tasks. Worst case, I’ll just go back to Lake Merced or Golden Gate Park…. stay tuned!

Responses

  1. i feel you about getting sick of the same old places to run. i’m thinking a trip somewhere might be necessary too. great 8 as well 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

