Posted by: Jen | January 21, 2010

Jumping over puddles is fun again!

Rain or shine, I said! And I stuck to it. Even though there was a steady drizzle when I got home from work, I wasted no time getting dressed up and ready to run.

Temp: 46 degrees, light rain, moderate wind
Time I started running: 6:45pm
Distance: 4.5 miles
Time: 44:53 (9:58/mi)

I had no plan, no pace, no distance. I went to the Embarcadero and just ran to run. At some points I was going fast; at others I was going slow. I just ran. And it was FANTASTIC!!! I wasn’t sore or anything until close to the end, when my foot started bothering me again. I really have to re-adjust my laces, I think they are too tight. I am icing right now, which usually helps.

I ran from the Ferry Building to Aquatic Park and back, passing Fisherman’s Wharf (and smelling the WONDERFUL Boudin sourdough), Pier 39, and all the rest of the piers. There were a few other hardy souls out there, so I wasn’t alone. I wore my waterproof headphones (the ones I usually wear for swimming) just in case, but I didn’t have to worry – it pretty much stopped raining after the first mile or so. Bonus!

Time for some dinner (mashed taters and grilled chicken) and an early bedtime – the mojo is back and I’m going to the gym tomorrow!

Responses

  1. Good work! I’m trying to think of what sourdough smells like. Gotta love little regionalisms. 😉

  2. sounds like a fabulous run. just run. excellent 🙂

  3. I’m sooooo jealous of running by the sourdough bakery. I’m a bread-a-holic and our hotel was just a few blocks away…so we were frequent visitors the week we were out there!! Congrats on a great run, those are the kind that make me love being a runner!

  4. Yum! Taters and chicken! And yayy for puddles!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

