Posted by: Jen | January 22, 2010

Swim ‘n’ Spin!

The motivation continues… today I got up before 5:00am and went to the gym for another “mini brick” workout – swim ‘n’ spin. The spin class starts at 6, but with the Resolutionists and regulars you have to get there early to get on the list. It is unfortunately NOT first come, first served at 24-Hour Fitness. You can pay $1 and sign up 24 hours in advance if you want. (It’s not that serious for me, but some people do it.)

I arrived at the gym at about 5:05 and was already the 12th person on the list. Crazy! I walked into the spin room and beelined towards what appeared to be an empty bike. An older gentleman, the “granddaddy” of the class from what I could see, informed me that it was “his” bike.

o.O

No bottle, no towel, nothing on the bike to indicate it was saved for someone. I was gracious about it and said oh, I didn’t realize, there was nothing on the bike.

His reply?

“Everybody knows this is my bike.”

Again…. o.O

Clearly NOT!!! If “everybody” knew, then I would know. Theoretically…

Anyway, people like that get on my nerves. I can do without the cliquey feeling of these classes; I’m a regular in the Wednesday lift class, or I should say I was until work started sucking up my evenings, but I would have never been rude like that to another person. So much for common courtesy.

At any rate, I found another empty bike, put my bottle in the rack, my shoes next to the bike, and set it up for me. I went back to the locker room, changed into swim gear, and got in 20 good laps in about 18:50. I was trying some drills – one lap fast, one lap easy, repeat. I’m not into the technicality of swimming; I don’t do all kinds of breathing/sighting/stroke drills. I just swim continuous or I do intervals. Keep it simple, I say. 🙂 There was no sign (or smell) of Cologne Guy; he was probably still asleep at that hour.

After the swim I changed back into bike gear and headed to the class. I had a few minutes to get set up and class started – it was INTENSE. Lots of hills and intervals. I felt a little out of shape but stuck with it the whole time, unlike Mister “Everybody knows this is my bike,” who frequently stopped for breaks. A mean part of me felt vindicated, somehow.

After that I went home, showered, had my Friday cup o’ Phil’z Coffee (which promptly made me jittery – there’s a reason we call it “crack” at work!) and a breakfast bagel, and went to work. Another long day… but the weekend is here!!!

Responses

  1. wow your brick workouts make me feel like a slacker. and they make me want to get up and go out right now to do it!!

    and people that that old guy annoy the heck out of me too. there is absolutely NO need for that kind of rudeness. i mean i have my fav equipment too but cmon: its a freaking bike. 0_o

  2. The way you described the clique-y feeling reminded me, strangely, of a tap class I was in once. The whole class was a bunch of people who all went to the same temple. I wasn’t Jewish or an adult, so I felt way out of it. Oh well — you got in a fabulous workout!

  3. Oh my gosh. I can just picture this man – I’m guessing bike shoes, black spandex bike shorts and a gray oversized tank top so you can see all his nasty old man hair? Hehe. My imagination’s running way with itself.

    I agree about the cliquey feeling, I used to have a class I frequented in college and totally admit (sadly, I blame it on my 20 year old self) to glaring at a new group of girls in the room who were trying to take my/my roommates “normal” mat area 😉 I am happy to say I’ve grown out of that over the years 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

