Posted by: Jen | January 23, 2010

Adventures in homebuying and homefurnishing

Today is not a workout day. I’m heading up to the house shortly and we’re going to look for new furniture!!! I’m excited about this. I am looking for a couch along the lines of this:

We can’t really agree on a dining room set, though. The mister likes dark, dark, dark wood and I do not. I prefer maple, birch, or even oak; he likes cherry and walnut. I hope we can find a compromise. πŸ™‚

We finally broke down and hired someone to finish the painting – I admit, I’m a disaster at it. I made more of a mess than anything. I painted two rooms and I’m pretty much over it. Haha. Our living room/entry/stairs/upstairs hall is all one color and there is NO way I’m painting all that. Our master bedroom is also large (think 18′ x 12′) and it has a dark color on the walls right now… recipe for disaster, much? πŸ™‚ Paint fumes give me a headache and I’m just not feelin’ it anymore. Easier to let a professional do it and then we can get on with the business of furniture and actually moving stuff. I packed several boxes during the week so we’ll be taking them up tomorrow in the mister’s truck. (I’m so glad he bought his friend’s Blazer – it’s going to come in very handy. My car is not all that useful for moving, though I can load it up with small boxes.)

I’m watching “Unforgettable Hollywood Tragedies” on E!; it’s very interesting. I had forgotten about some of these celebrities and the nature of their deaths. Sad, really. Right now they are talking about Bernie Mac – I always loved watching his show, and he was HILARIOUS in the movie Friday.

I’d better get off my butt and get moving, it’s about a 50-minute drive to the house and I said I’d be there by 10. Hope all of you have a terrific day and a great weekend!

Responses

  1. Couldn’t imagine painting a house. No artistic ability here! Hope today’s a great one for ya.

  2. Nice! Enjoy!

  3. E! has some of the best (and yet worst) shows. they totally suck me in! enjoy your day πŸ™‚

  4. YAY for a painter and for new furniture!!

  5. I’m with your mister, I like dark wood myself but I hope you two find a happy compromise on the dining set- bamboo, maybe? I’m glad you hired someone to finish the painting and everything is coming together. πŸ™‚

  6. I’m so afraid I’m going to get burnt out on painting! I do really like the colors you guys picked! I’m with AM and your DF, I do like dark woods. I wish you were closer and we’d totally give you our dining room set – it’s light colored wood and it will blend in way too well with the floor in our new dining room πŸ™‚ I’ll just mail it to you πŸ˜‰ Did you end up picking a dining room set at the Costco trip?

    +1 on Bamboo AM! I really love the way it looks!


Leave a Reply

Categories

