Posted by: Jen | February 1, 2010

January Recap, aka Benchmarking cuz it’s a cool word

Everyone else is doing it, so why not me?

The word benchmarking is cool to me. When I was working on my MBA (aka 21 Months of Pain), we wrote countless benchmarking papers. Though I did get tired of the papers, I never got tired of the word. That just shows you how much of a Werd Nerd I really am.

(Another cool word is tubule, but I just heard it in a oral health commercial. Totally not related.)

January was an excellent month in terms of mileage – about average in terms of everything else, fail for the 100 pushups/200 situps challenges, and total FAIL for weight training. I did not make it to a single strength class all month. (I blame longer hours at work and a new office location that is much farther from the gym.)

However, I did attend a couple of spin classes (a start!) and started swimming again (kinda). I really need to get my tri schedule in order. Running alone is not enough, and reading 8 books in January isn’t going to help me get ready for a half-Ironman (7 months and 10 days to go, not that I’m counting).

But, on to the good stuff!

Total mileage in January: 63.6 (goal: 60)
Mileage in January 2009: 19

Number of races: 1

Distance raced: Half-marathon (#4)

All in all, I am generally pleased, if not thrilled, with my progress this month. On to February!

Responses

  1. a most excellent month. especially on the book count! i ❤ reading too and don't get to do enough of it during the semester

    and i now love the word benchmarking. it makes me feel important haha!

  2. I’m learning lots of new words! Wow, for finishing so many books. I’ve been reading more again, but geez, woman! I’m going to have to step up my game.
    And where do you find the time to read???

  3. Word nerds unite. Wonder twin powers, activate!

    I’m proud of your accomplishments this month.


Leave a Reply

Categories

