Posted by: Jen | February 2, 2010

Trying To Tempo

Alliteration is cool, too. 🙂

I had intended to run 3 miles today but when I looked at the clock and saw 7:15, I knew I’d have to shrink it to 2. So I decided to push and go for a mini-tempo. I find it hard to call 2 miles a tempo run since you’re supposed to theoretically have a mile on either side for warm/cool, but I pushed and finished the run in 19:18. Not my best 2-mile time by any stretch but it worked for how sluggish I feel today.

The best part was running into M, my massage therapist, right after I started running. She’s also running Kaiser on Sunday so it was great to see her again. I love how it can feel like a small town in such a big city. I’ll miss that after we move. I need to go see her again, now that I think about it… perhaps a nice post-race reward. 🙂

Tonight I have to start packing the kitchen and the books (our mover guy is dropping off boxes). There aren’t really any inspiring classes at the gym on Tuesday nights, so I might do a double whammy tomorrow. I really need a pedicure, so I may have to make a point of taking care of that after work since I won’t have time tomorrow or Thursday, and I don’t want to push it off until the last minute.

5 days until race day!

P.S. The left knee felt fine this morning. 🙂

Responses

  1. Just getting out there and running is such a big step in and of itself. Can’t wait to hear how you do in the race!

  2. Good luck in the race and with moving. Just one of those would be plenty for most people (including me!).

  3. Keyser Sose!

    Totally random.

    Only you could handle moving and a half and still have a smile.

  4. tempo-ing in the early morning is soooo hard. awesome job getting it done!

  5. I feel the same way about tempo warm up and cool downs. not so much anger at the warm up, but the cool down always gets me.


Leave a Reply

Categories

