Posted by: Jen | February 4, 2010

Peace out, runs in the ‘hood

Today was my last run “around the ‘hood.” No more running down cambered sidewalks, no passing homeless people peeing on trees, no catcalls in front of the laborers’ union, no stopping for street lights, and no more really, really steep hills.

I’ll miss it… but at the same time, I won’t. 🙂

I think last runs before race day are the best – there’s the delicious feeling of anticipation that makes you want to just burst forth and run like crazy, but the sane part of you holds back and saves it for race day.

Today’s run: 4 miles
The route: A little different; I went up to The Castro and tackled some hills. (Hills seem to be a theme lately; see yesterday’s post.) I felt the spirit of Harvey Milk with me as I ran past the former site of Castro Camera.

[Random aside: If you’ve never seen the movie Milk, I highly recommend it.]

On my way back down, I saw two women running about a block and a half ahead of me, so I decided to have a little fartlek fun and try to catch up with them. I almost got there – I was 1/4 block behind them at Dolores Park, but they turned and I had to go straight. Bummer. It was fun to fly down 18th Street at an 8:45-9:00 pace, though. 🙂

I got home at a decent hour, had some chocolate milk, stretched, foam rolled (ow), and got on with the business of Thursday. I’m so glad it’s almost the weekend!

Three days until race day!

Responses

  1. Sounds like a great run but it also sounds like your new stompin’ grounds will be a lot more runner friendly.

  2. ha glad you enjoyed the run even if it was in sketchy hoods 🙂 i can’t even imagine running through that stuff on a regular basis!

  3. Great job on your last run in your old ‘hood. Sounds like a fabulous way to go out. I hope you enjoy your new running routes.

  4. Hooray for bidding farewell to the old and embracing the new!


Leave a Reply

Categories

