Posted by: Jen | February 20, 2010

Headwinds

Hello, faithful readers!

I have to say it is really nice to have access to so many great recreation trails in the area. Today I went back and re-visited the Delta DeAnza Trail (I ran 11 miles on it a couple of months ago, while we were still working on the house) and decided to take it in the opposite direction, towards the BART station. (BART = Bay Area Rapid Transit, aka our subway/light rail system.)

I had a strong headwind as I headed west but the cloud cover kept things nice and cool, so I didn’t even need sunglasses. The trail has some undulating hills which add an extra challenge. No need to be in San Francisco for hill training! I passed a few people out with their dogs, but no other runners. I haven’t really seen very many runners around here since the move. This is why I want to start some kind of local club – I know we’re here, but where do they run? What are the best places to run for different conditions, different training plans, etc? I want to know! I want to pick the brains of the locals. 🙂

I made it to Bailey Road, where the train station is, and couldn’t find the rest of the trail so I went up the street about 2/10 mi, heard the beep of my Garmin saying I hit 3 miles, turned around, and headed back. Even though I had eaten breakfast, I still felt sluggish and tired. I guess I took too much time off, haha. I have 5 weeks until my next half marathon so I’m re-building my long run mileage slowly, 1 extra mile per week and a 12K race the week before as my “cut back” – it seems to work for me, having a shorter LR the week before a half. I have set a PR the last two times I did that, and by a margin of several minutes. I think there’s something to it. 🙂

I know I still need to write a Kaiser HM race report, but it’s been two weeks and it feels like too much work to write it out now. Bleah. I’m going to check out the gym tomorrow and see how the pool is; I haven’t been in the water in several weeks and I’m overdue. It’s supposed to rain so cycling is out of the question until I get some rain gear.

In race news, I have decided to withdraw from the Wildflower Triathlon on May 2 because I don’t feel that I will be adequately prepared. I haven’t been on the bike, I haven’t swam in several weeks, and the bike course is exceptionally hilly so I feel I need more than 2 months to prepare. I am going to get a credit towards another Tri-California event, so I have chosen the Alcatraz Challenge aquathlon on July 18th. It’s a 1.5-mile Alcatraz swim followed by a 7-mile out-and-back run across the Golden Gate Bridge. Sounds perfect – my goal of an Alcatraz swim and running in one of my favorite locations. 🙂

I hope all of you have a fantastic weekend!!!  Happy running!

Responses

  1. bummer about pulling out of the triathalon but i understand where youre coming from. it’s never fun to feel under prepared for something

    but that trail sounds awesome. i think i’m going to have to search out some trails and see if there’s anything like that by me 🙂

  2. Great job on your workouts. It’s probably a good call on not going ahead with that triathlon; you’ll be rested and injury-free to “tri” another day. That aquathon sounds really fun and cool though!

  3. Hey, newlywed life can mean you put racing on hold sometimes. Yes, I’m obsessed with talking about your marital status. I hope you feel super-prepared for the next go-’round!

  4. So would you swim out to Alcatraz??? Sounds crazy. Are there sharks? Do you have to wear a wetsuit??? I’m intrigued.

  5. Sounds like you’ve got a great plan! Roll with the punches is what I say!

    XOXO


Leave a Reply

Categories

