Posted by: Jen | March 13, 2010

Exciting new beginnings

Hello faithful readers!

Some of you know I’m a member of Team LUNA Chix this year; our season begins in May and it’s going to be exciting! We will participate in several races, put on training clinics, sponsor weekday runs, and raise money for the Breast Cancer Fund. We’re sponsored by Luna – yes, the company that puts out those yummy Luna bars – and there are 27 teams all over the country. We kick off the season with a big summit every year, and it is coming up in just a few weeks!

I met with the ladies this morning and we started planning the season. So far we have identified three races to participate in this year (one in June, one in July, and one in August); potential clinic topics (everything from gear to injury prevention to Cross-Fit to nutrition); and locations for our weekday runs! I’m so excited to be part of such a great organization.

After the meeting, we went for a run – we were in the Presidio already, so we ran to Baker Beach and along the water, up and down some stairs, and along gorgeous trails. The group ran about 5 miles, and I kept going for a total of 10, stretching my run down the Marina to Fort Mason and back to our meeting place.

I took this photo during our run:

It was a perfect day in San Francisco. Temp was in the 50s, and not a cloud could be seen for miles. It was definitely one of those “I love being a runner” days. 🙂 Even though I got sunscreen in my eyes and they were burning for HOURS after the run, causing me some difficulty with driving home (and a lot of pain), it was still a great day!

Responses

  1. well i had an opposite day running wise haha. jealous of your weather! sunscreen + eyes = horrific pain. hope that it’s feeling better now. although inside i’m saying serves you right for having such a lovely day that you needed sunscreen hahahahah 🙂

    • LOL… I am a skin cancer survivor – I wear sunscreen whether I *need* it or not. You can never be too safe!

  2. Well, I love the picture-on-the-run idea . . . reminds me somehow of the movie “Yes Man.” And it’s beautiful!

    Now I want a Luna bar.

  3. What a fabulous picture! I would definitely love to be a runner on a run like that. Good luck training for those upcoming races!

  4. Love this picture 🙂 Yay for Team Luna Chix, can’t wait to read about the season!


Leave a Reply

Categories

