Posted by: Jen | April 4, 2010

Decisions, decisions

I have been going back and forth for about a week now.

To run 26.2 in 2010, or wait until next year?

I have pretty much decided that I’m going to go for it in 2010, and then again in October 2011.

I bought this book:

I’m definitely planning to use the Galloway method – that’s a no-brainer for me. I’m excited to read the book and get some more insight beyond what I’ve already read. The other part will be to determine the run/walk ratio that works best for me based on my time goal, which I haven’t determined yet. I also got another book for motivation.

For those of you who haven’t been reading this whole time, I lost a close friend of mine last June to suicide. He was also a runner, and in his memory I plan to run the Detroit Free Press Marathon next October. It was his first and only marathon, so I will be running it and raising money to support the American Federation for Suicide Prevention. My goal will be to finish in roughly the same time he did, which is 4:48 and change.

Marathon #1, which I will run just to finish and experience 26.2, see how I feel about it. Haha. Detroit is non-negotiable – I have made a promise to my friend’s family – but I want to do another one before that so I know what to expect and so I can train appropriately. I also don’t want my first marathon to be in a different time zone where I’m thrown off kilter already by jet lag and travel.

I’m most likely going to run this race: California International Marathon

It is advertised as one of the fastest courses in the country – it has a net downhill elevation and is point-to-point; no loops or out-and-backs. The race begins in Folsom and traces a route taken during the Gold Rush in 1849. The finish is right in front of the Capitol Building in Sacramento. I volunteered last year at the finish line, and it’s a nice set-up. The weather was also fantastic – 31 degrees! I love me some cold races, all the better for great finish times. 🙂

This is the course profile!

I have not 100% decided but I’m pretty close to it!!

Responses

  1. I’ve read about CIM, and it sounds like a great race. Plus it’s close to you. I’m still trying to decide if I want to train for a marathon in October. Part of me wants to wait until after I run a 1/2 in May to determine if I’m “fit enough” to try it, and part says I should just nut up and do it. Decisions, decisions is right.

  2. You can totally do a marathon. The only real hardship for me with marathon training wasn’t the long miles especially with the Galloway method, it was dedicating the time to train. You are a rockstar so I know you can do it. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

