Posted by: Jen | May 10, 2010

Coming back from the darkness.

Sorry I have been MIA, faithful readers – I haven’t had much to say of late. However, I do have a spot of good news:

After more than 3 years, I finally broke my 5K PR.

The race: Race For The Cure Sacramento.
My time: 25:27 (Garmin), 25:37 (chip – no mat at the start, which to me defeats the purpose)
Stats: 150th overall, 7/64 AG

It was a flat and fast race. I had gotten maybe 4 hours of sleep the night before so I wasn’t really feeling it… but once I started, I felt ridiculously fast. I kept going and actually ran with negative splits!

Mile 1: 8:13
Mile 2: 8:11
Mile 3: 8:09
(and a little extra in that last tenth of a mile)

I was pleasantly surprised to see that the course almost exactly matched a 5K – my Garmin said 3.12 miles. Many times, the watch is off by up to a tenth of a mile or a little more. (Several of my HMs came out at 13.26 mi, for example.)

There weren’t any official photographers so I don’t have any pics to share, but it was fun all the same!

Responses

  1. congrats on the pr! i bet you feel fantastic right now 🙂

  2. WOOHOO!!!


Leave a Reply

Categories

