Posted by: Jen | May 27, 2010

Sometimes you CAN go back.

I decided to take it back… to my old gym. Yeah, it’s in a rough(ish) neighborhood. Yeah, the place is usually slammed crazy crowded. Yeah, parking sucks.

Call me nostalgic, but I had to go back. I needed to kill some time before driving home (or sit in traffic, which is totally a waste of my time) so I hit the gym and my old friend the small swimming pool.

It was FANTASTIC!!!

I’ve complained on and off about how slow my swimming has gotten, how I seem to have lost my mojo, and on and on and on. Well, I think it all has to do with environment, because my swim today was A) longer and B) faster than any of my previous swims since the move almost 4 months ago – AND I haven’t been swimming in a long time! Clearly, I missed my old pool.

Today’s swim: 1,500 yards
Time: 29:44 (average 0:59/lap)

Previous average: 1:10-1:15/lap

I feel much better about things related to swimming and triathlon in general. I made a big decision this week – I have decided NOT to participate in the half-Ironman race this year. I have requested a cancellation and credit, and will participate in two sprint tris instead:

San Francisco Triathlon at Treasure Island (in lieu of Wildflower, which took place 5/2)
0.5K swim, 12 mile bike, 5K run

and

Golden State Triathlon (which I did last year, finishing 4th in the Athena division)
1/2 mile swim, 15 mile bike, 3 mile run

Perhaps next year… an Olympic distance tri. Maybe an HIM late next year or definitely in 2012. This has become a 13.1 focused year, and training for my first marathon starts in just over 3 weeks.

I have felt better since making this decision; my commute and schedule are still nuts, but at least now I’m not pressuring myself like crazy to meet an unattainable goal.

P.S. I had a delicious Japanese dinner after, and boy did every bite taste like heaven. I discovered mochi tonight… with mango and strawberry ice creams. It was so good. Here’s a picture of what it looks like:

If you’ve never had it, OMG you must try it. SO GOOD. The perfect post-workout treat. 🙂 Apparently Trader Joe’s sells it. I MUST GET SOME THIS WEEKEND!!!!

Yes, I love food. 🙂

Responses

  1. that mochi looks amazing. too bad i avoid trader joes like the plague. haha going to have to get someone else to go buy it for me

  2. I think that’s a really smart move J, you’ll be so much more confident and prepared with a couple more sprints under your belt!

  3. Jen,
    You can buy Mochi Ice cream in the asian grocrey stores.

    • Excellent point, Tricia! I don’t have one near my house (we have the Mexican grocery stores) but I know there are a ton in the city. Thanks for reminding me. 🙂

  4. I have seen mochi and TJ’s but never tried it–not there or anywhere. Now I must! I love heavenly things. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

