Posted by: Jen | May 29, 2010

A day full of surprises and twists

Today I went for something a little different! I decided to do a mini-duathlon, me-style. I rode to the gym (5+ miles), then swam 1,500 yards. I rode home the long way (almost 7 miles) for a total of 12 miles. Bike/swim/bike! Haha! My swim was at my local pool – not my old pool from Thursday night – it was SLOW again.

Thursday’s swim: 29:44
Today’s swim: 36:20

Bleah. I don’t get it. I think it’s a combination of two things: warmer water and more chlorine. My skin feels much more irritated after I swim at my local pool.

I also had a random admirer today – if you can call it that. I was locking up my bike outside the gym and this random guy came up to me and was telling me that I looked good and all this creepy stuff. I couldn’t get my bike locked up fast enough. I got inside the gym, and the front desk guy asked me if I was all right. Really nice guy. He also told me my bike wasn’t going anywhere (I’m paranoid about that ever since my previous bike was stolen in front of the gym when I lived in SF). All in all, an…. interesting trip.  LOL.

The mister and I made a pilgrimage to Trader Joe’s this afternoon, and I got MOCHI! I got green tea and mango; the mango was delicious, and green tea wasn’t bad but I think regular green tea ice cream is better. I also made veggie kebabs with zucchini, tomatoes, mushrooms, and baby bell peppers; grilled chicken; and a lovely salad with arugula and other stuff, garnished with shredded carrots, thin sliced dry almonds, candied pecans, and a raspberry vinaigrette. Of course, I can’t forget the riesling! TJ’s had Chateau Ste. Michelle for $6.99. Bonus!

Here’s a picture of the deliciousness!

Yummy foods!

We also stopped at Target so I could finally get a hand mixer. Tomorrow, I’m making banana bread. 🙂 I grabbed a contour pillow as well; I’ve been having neck pain off and on for many years (old injury) and lately it’s been getting worse. I suspect it’s partially related to my pillow, so it’s time to go back to the chiropractor-recommended solution. We’ll see how that turns out.

In other news, I’m getting a haircut on Tuesday! New month, new attitude. 🙂 Stay tuned for photos.

The month’s almost over – I hope all of you finish up strong! I look forward to your end-of-month reports! Enjoy the rest of the weekend!

Responses

  1. I was reading through your last few posts and it looks like you’ve had a great May for racing between the 1/ 2 and Bay to Breakers. Dinner looks super tasty, and I hope your creepy admirer stays away.

  2. You’re a hot babe! Relish in that! =D

    XOXO

    p.s. Can’t wait to see pics!


Leave a Reply

Categories

