Posted by: Jen | November 6, 2010

Caribbean Sounds race report

The race was awful. Poorly organized would be a compliment. It was a disaster. They sold a ton of entries using a Groupon-type coupon, then claimed you had to go back and register officially on the race’s website – huh? I went through my e-mails and nothing ever indicated that. So I and at least 40 other people didn’t have numbers; we got assigned numbers at the race with a different bib that had no race logo.  I called it the “failure to follow instructions” bib. Then we had to wait until after the race for a shirt.

Then, to make things worse, the start was delayed by about 40-45 minutes. No information passed to the runners, no communication from race staff. I was already kind of thirsty, but then we got hungry to boot. On top of that, the course had no aid stations – except at the start/finish. It was two loops. I decided to pack it in and ran the 5K without completing the second loop. There was no way I was going to do well on that second half with no water for 3.1 miles when I was already hungry and thirsty. RB and I finished in 29:30 or so. There weren’t that many 5K people, so we’re probably among the top finishers. LOL. I didn’t see anyone milling about the finish area!

They had a food table set up, and they had cooked Caribbean-style dishes – but the food wouldn’t be ready for another half hour, they said. They had a 45-minute delay before the race start PLUS the time we spent running, and the food wasn’t ready??? I had to leave before I said something I’d regret. Haha. I got my shirt, thankfully, and we left. Had breakfast at a nice little cafe nearby… ricotta pancakes are a new yummy delight. So light and fluffy! 🙂

This week wasn’t the best, but the hay’s in the barn at this point – I have one more 20-miler and then taper time. This week isn’t going to break me come December 5. 🙂

[Random side note – they claim to support sarcoidosis research, but they had sarcoidosis spelled wrong on the race banner. Ehhhh…. not very professional, methinks.]

29 days until the marathon!!!!

Responses

  1. well you’re last sentence is positive and exciting!

    bummer that the race today was such a bust.

    • Thanks girl – I couldn’t believe how bad it was!

  2. sorry the race turned out to be so disasterous. on the humerous side, carribeans are known for their laid back attitude and inside knowing…maybe the delayed start was the “spirit” they added for the race. haha.

    • Excellent point! 🙂 I just wish I had had more food and water with me in that case. 🙂 Now I know to always bring my own fuel belt!


Leave a Reply

Categories

